Find out the answer to your burning questions:

  • Shark diving, bungee-jumping or sky-diving?
  • What are some of the things I’m bad at?

To be honest I came up with the Strange Questions To Ask because I didn’t quite know how to start the conversation on who it was I am without feeling as awkward as I do face-to-face.

Seriously, am I the only one who goes through an existential crisis when the words, “So tell me about yourself” is uttered?

In any case, this is how I’ve decided to go about it, an answer to some of the questions on my first post every, err let’s say Tuesday, yeah?

So here we go, shark-diving, bungee-jumping or sky-diving! Is it wrong to say I’d do all three? I know from the looks of me (consult The Strange page at the top), it doesn’t look like I would agree to any of it, but if I’m being perfectly honest – I live for experiences like that. “The fear won’t hurt me as much as the regret will.”

If I had to honestly pick just one, though, I’d go with sky-diving.

Besides, I’ve seen Jaws, and a couple of truly frightening videos of sharks eating their way through cages. Naaahhh.

misunderstood-shark-meme.jpg

As to the question of things I’m bad at, so many.

I think the thing I’m worst at is probably my inability to communicate with others. I really kind of wish people just “got” one another,  you know? Having to navigate through multiple meanings and tones just invites so many misunderstandings that I just –

Nah. I’m messing with you. I love that there are multiple ways people can interpret language, it’s part of the beauty of it and is both a blessing and a curse. Languages are an art form and I wouldn’t be a writer if I didn’t love words, or at the very least, accept the importance of them.

The reason I can’t really communicate is because I’m just plain-and-simple, bad at it.

I’m one of those people that just have a knack for saying the wrong thing at the wrong time. I’m always second guessing the things that I say (to the point where I end up lurking on online forums instead of participating in them as was my original intention), and yeah, I’m not going to lie, it makes life pretty hard. I lost a job over it, after all.

People think I’m shy or introverted at best, unsociable or slow at worst.

Some of it may be due to the whole not speaking English fluently as a kid in a country that I immigrated to, but come on, it’s been at least 15years since then and I still suck at getting my words to leave my mouth.

That won’t stop me from trying to anyway!

download-1

Another thing I’m bad at is keeping in contact. I swear it isn’t because I hate you that I suddenly stopped talking to you, I promise.

Despite social media, and my phone being attached to my hand, I literally just talk to one person daily. I’ve successfully transcended texting my best friend every day, and we’ve managed to communicate for a month purely by tagging each other in memes.

Unfortunately for everyone else, I fluctuate between wanting to annoy everyone and not caring, and feeling I’m annoying everyone and feeling bad about it.

Hurray!

So what am I going to do to fix this?

Well being consistent would help. I’ve made a list of people I need to check up on at least once every two weeks. It may seem like I turned it into a chore, but a friend of mine has already started to tag me in memes in the same fashion as my best friend. The transcending begins!

What about you guys? Shark-diving, bungee-jumping or sky-diving? What’s a thing you’re bad at? Tell me more!

